A Hard Lesson

I must admit, I had my first (and hopefully last) tumble off my bicycle the other day.  Now don’t worry, it was nothing serious…didn’t even get a road rash!  I was driving too fast, trying to get home before the next squall hit and the pavement was slick with the previous downpour (which had missed me because I was in the supermarket loading up on groceries….yes, my panniers were full… And heavy!) when I came to a 3 way intersection (very narrow) where 3 cars almost collided and I was behind one of them  who braked quite suddenly in front of me!  Yikes, I hit the right brake on the handle and went into a skid. Luckily it had slowed me down somewhat before I fell over onto my right side (oh dear, the side with the eggs!) .  Lesson 1:  on a granny bike, the rear brake is engaged only when you peddle backwards, the hand brake (on the right handle bar grip) is for the front tire!  I did know this and have been trying to get used to it, but in a panic I forgot!  The man whose car I was trying to avoid hitting, got out and helped me back up…was very apologetic and worried that I might be hurt.  His wife was there too, only she was on a bicycle…it was a bit confusing and somewhat comical…I can laugh about it now!  By the way, we didn’t have to have scrambled eggs for lunch that day!

image

One thought on “A Hard Lesson

Leave a Reply

